SHOULD MEN HAVE BABIES?

It is interested to think about men getting pregnant and having children, while women stay by their side and support them.  How this impact everything we know now….. I think our world would be a lot less populated! 🙂

Seahorses have always been very interested to me…they are so different and look nothing like the “normal” fish we are used to seeing in the water.  Although I love the look of the seahorse, I recently found some interesting facts about this unusual fish.

The most interesting thing to me was the fact that the male seahorses give birth to the babies!  The male seahorse has a pouch just below his chest that he uses to carry his young.  During courtship, the female will lay between 5 to 2,000 eggs directly into the male seahorse’s pouch.  The male seahorse then fertilizes the eggs and nourishes them as they develop in his pouch.  The pregnancy lasts two to five weeks and his stomach becomes distended just like a pregnant woman until he gives birth the young.  Seahorses are monogamous and the appreciative female performs courtship dances daily to exhibit her loyalty.

The average seahorse lives up to four years, and they become able to reproduce at the age of six months.

35 different species of seahorses exist and they range in size from a quarter of an inch to over a foot long.

They come in many different colors, and can change color to match their surrounds.

They are found in warm shallow water in beds of sea grass.

Seahorses can look in two directions at once.  It uses its swivel eyes to watch its prey without moving.

Just like fish, the seahorse breathes through gills.

The seahorse has no teeth, it only eats live food and it swallows its food whole.   The main food for the seahorse is shrimp and other Crustaceans, and young seahorses can eat over three thousand brine shrimp a day.  They eat by a snatch-sucking movement of their snout.

Seahorses do not have a stomach; they eat constantly to help get enough food to digest.

6 responses to “SHOULD MEN HAVE BABIES?

  1. what a interesting article. I was so excited to read it. I am going to Hawaii soon and one of my tours is to a seahorse farm, where you can touch and hold them. I am even more excited now since I have read from you more about them. I will send you a picture when I return home. Thanks I always look forward to reading your articles I never know what you will write about next. Keep up the good work.

  2. Oh my word. Knowing how men are when they’re sick — there is NO WAY I’d want to put up with a pregnant husband!

    Plus, during our pregnancy classes, we learned that the amount of hormones in a woman’s body during the third trimester are enough to kill a man.

    I like things the way they are. 🙂

Leave a Reply

