THE PINTEREST FRAUD

So I love Pinterest….BUT

I’m pretty sure it is responsible for many marriages ending in divorce….

and mine might be next!

divorce

What kind of people can actually “DO IT YOURSELF ?”  Is it really DIY ?

If my husband comes home from work again and I say to him “look what I found on Pinterest today”, I might have to look for a new place to live.  I have to say I have found many clever crafts on Pinterest and I have made some amazing meals that my family loves.  The problem is my percentage of good to bad is really low, and getting lower.  I have two really bad Pinterest finds and the second one might make my husband divorce me.

It started small.  I went grocery shopping and made purchased the food to put together a month of crock pot meals.  I worked all day and made the meals just like I found on Pinterest and it was totally awesome.  I won’t have to cook late at night, I will come home in the afternoon and the house will smell wonderful.  Everything was wonderful until we sat down to eat them and they were all really bad, so bad I had to make a second dinner for the family.  I have learned that my family is obviously very picky about the food we should stick to the food we are used to.

pinterest1

Then I decided to get crafty.  When remodeling my daughters bedroom she wanted something different and cool so obviously we went on Pinterest for ideas.  We saw several ideas that we loved and we decided on an EASY project.  Well, it looked like an easy project.  Half way through the project I found out the truth…. it was not a DIY project at all.  What kind of person can “Do It Yourself ?”   I thought we would get some old wood pallets paint them white and stack them to make an elevated bed and L-shaped coach.  In my head it looks really cool and super easy.  What it didn’t say on the website was:

  1. Not all pallets are the same size and shape   What?  How was I supposed to know that?
  2. You have to sand the pallets before you paint them.  That was not a step I planned in my head.
  3. You have to use a paint sprayer to get the paint inside the holes of the pallet.

I went from throwing some paint on some pallets and stacking them against the wall to needing my husband to cut, sand, and paint the pallets…… see how the divorce scenario came to play?  It is still an awesome idea….. just not the DIY project I thought it was.  (I will have to share pictures when it is done, only half way finished at this point)

pinterest2

P.S.  I know several people who have made the crock pot meals and they loved them….I also know that many projects are actually DIY, but some should be labeled Do IT With A Team Of Experts.

PLEASE SHARE YOUR PINTEREST SUCCESS AND DISASTER STORIES OR PICTURES

pinterest6pinterest4pinterest7pinterest3pinterest9

pinterest10

One response to “THE PINTEREST FRAUD

Leave a Reply

